Apart from applied research, in other words the systematic research in the collections and the compiling of dossiers for the Art Restitution Advisory Board, members of the Commission for Provenance Research also make a significant contribution to fundamental research. Digitization, publications and specific research projects help expand knowledge of asset confiscations as a result of Nazi persecution and also foster international networking and the professionalization of Nazi-related provenance research and make the results of the Commission for Provenance Research’s work more accessible. You can find out here about current and completed projects carried out by the Commission on its own or in cooperation with partners.

>> Lexicon of Austrian Provenance Research
>> Online Edition – records from the Central Depot for Seized Collections in Vienna
>> Database of provenance markings
>> The art trade and the export files of the Federal Monuments Authority 1938–1945
>> TransCultAA – Transfer of Cultural Objects in the Alpe Adria Region in the 20th Century

Lexicon of Austrian Provenance Research

Based on the concept developed by Pia Schölnberger and Leonhard Weidinger, the Lexicon of Austrian Provenance Research collates the knowledge acquired since 1998 by members of the Commission for Provenance Research and by provenance researchers from other institutions. It has entries about persons, places, companies and institutions that were connected with museums and collections, culture policy or trade in art and cultural objects in Austria between 1930 and 1960. The articles cover asset confiscations during the Nazi period, biographies and career histories, document the institutional context and structures, and examine post-war restitution practice.
The Lexicon will be continuously enlarged and supplemented. Starting with just under 200 entries published in early 2019, by October 2020 a total of 295 entries could be consulted online. The website is to be relaunched at the end of 2020, and some of the entries will be available in English, with further texts in English to follow in 2021.

Project duration: 2014 to 2018 (idea, conception and project development), since 2019 online, continuous updating
Financing: Commission for Provenance Research
Project team: Pia Schölnberger and Leonhard Weidinger (conception and editing until 2017), Konstantin Ferihumer and Susanne Hehenberger (editing since 2018), Leonhard Weidinger (technical consultant), Nick Somers (English translations)
Link: www.lexikon-provenienzforschung.org


 

Online Edition – records from the Central Depot for Seized Collections in Vienna

In December 2017 the Commission for Provenance Research and the Kunsthistorisches Museum (KHM) archive published around 11,500 file cards created in 1938/39 in the Zentraldepot für beschlagnahmte Sammlungen (Central Depot for Seized Collections) in the Neue Burg in Vienna. The files contain a record of objects confiscated by the Nazi regime from Viennese art collections and brought to the Central Depot from autumn 1938 for subsequent distribution to various museums, including the planned art museum in Linz. These confiscated artworks were administered until July 1940 by the Kunsthistorisches Museum and thereafter by the Institut für Denkmalpflege (Institute for Monument Protection), now the Bundesdenkmalamt (Federal Monuments Authority – BDA) in Vienna, which also continued to use the file cards for records after 1945. The idea behind the Online Edition of the Central Depot files was to create a combined digital database of the separate BDA and KHM sources and to make the data available to researchers and the general public.
The database has already produced results. Following the systematic scanning of published file cards and photos, a Pettenkofen watercolour held by the Albertina since 1963 was identified fifty-five years after its confiscation from the Louis Rothschild collection. In June 2018, the Art Restitution Advisory Board recommended its restitution.
Accompanying texts have been available in English since summer 2018. In 2019 a further 400 cards were discovered during an inventory of the KHM archive and added to the Online Edition. In 2020, a comparison was made with a further 122 photos of various origins in the KHM archive showing individual objects or groups of objects from the seized collections. They include paintings, drawings, artefacts, weapons and armour from the Aldor, Altmann, Goldmann, Gutmann, Haas, Kornfeld, Kulka, Pilzer, A. and L. Rothschild and Thorsch collections and were evidently photographed at different times. Blog entries have been created for 170 object numbers from the Central Depot with links to the photos now published in the KHM’s online collection. Thanks to the assistance of members of the research community, additional information has been obtained on around 600 object numbers.

Project duration: October 2015 to December 2017, continuous updating
Financing: Commission for Provenance Research and Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien
Project team: Lisa Frank (Commission for Provenance Research), Susanne Hehenberger (project coordination, KHM), Peter Kloser (KHM), Leonhard Weidinger (Commission for Provenance Research)
Cooperation partners: Commission for Provenance Research, Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien, Federal Monuments Authority
Link: www.zdk-online.org


 

Database of provenance markings

The database of provenance markings, developed by René Schober and Christina Gschiel and managed since 2016 by Julia Eßl, is designed for the documentation, collection and investigation of markings on museum objects (e.g. on the back or frame of paintings and drawings, or on the bottom of applied art objects). The findings of expert appraisals (autopsies) are linked to the data from the mounting in a specially designed database, which facilitates the collection and comparison of provenance markings and the identification of the former owners.
Typical markings include export stamps, company stamps, museum stamps, exhibition labels/stamps, gallery labels/stamps, estate stamps, inscriptions, inventory stamps, numbers/letters, bookplates, consignment numbers or customer stamps/seals.
Thanks to the online accessibility of these data, knowledge and information can be rapidly exchanged. The database is subject to registration and all data entered into it are accessible only to users with a justified interest in them.
As at September 2020 the database of provenance markings contained around 900 entries.

Project duration: May 2010 to December 2011, continuous updating
Financing: Commission for Provenance Research
Project team: René Schober and Christina Gschiel (2010–2016), Julia Eßl (since 2016)
Link: provenienz.collectiveaccess.de


 

The art trade and the export files of the Federal Monuments Authority 1938–1945

Under the 1918 Austrian Export Prohibition Act and the 1923 Protection of Monuments Act, the export of valuable art objects from Austria was strictly regulated. This legislation was exploited during the Nazi era to block the export of valuables belonging to persecutees. After the war, it was also used to force victims, most of whom now lived abroad, to donate or sell to museums artworks coming under the export prohibition, in return for the permission to export other items. Between 1938 and 1945, around 18,000 export applications were made, the vast majority in 1938. The forced emigration of the Jews and their dispossession were the main reason for the enormous increase in applications after the annexation of Austria to Nazi Germany.
In this project financed by the Commission, the names of the applicants and other details were first entered in an Excel table and the data then analysed. A very large number of cultural objects were exported to Germany from art dealerships in Austria, mostly to dealerships in Germany. Because of the vague descriptions of the objects in many cases, it is often difficult to determine whether the goods were confiscated or sold under pressure. The enormous increase in applications would suggest a close connection with the anti-Jewish measures. At all events, non-Jewish art dealers made large profits. In an extension of the project, an important aspect has been added, namely the role of logistics companies (transport, warehouse and shipping companies) in this context.

Project duration: Until September 2022 (on account of COVID-19)
Financing: Commission for Provenance Research, co-financed by the National Fund of the Republic of Austria for Victims of National Socialism
Project team: Gabriele Anderl, Anneliese Schallmeiner


 

TransCultAA – Transfer of Cultural Objects in the Alpe Adria Region in the 20th Century

The Commission for Provenance Research acts as associated partner in this research project

This research project is the first attempt to investigate the transfer of cultural assets in the Alpe Adria area in the 20th century. In an unprecedented transnational and collaborative way, it will engage a multinational team of scholars to analyze “Uses of the Past”, in particular historical and current conflicts of ownership, patrimony, and cultural heritage…
Link: www.transcultaa.eu/project-description/

>> Lexikon der österreichischen Provenienzforschung
>> Online-Edition der Karteien zum sogenannten Zentraldepot für beschlagnahmte Sammlungen in Wien
>> Datenbank der Provenienzmerkmale
>> Der Kunsthandel im Spiegel der Ausfuhrakten des Bundesdenkmalamtes 1938–1945
>> TransCultAA – Transfer of Cultural Objects in the Alpe Adria Region in the 20th Century

Lexikon der österreichischen Provenienzforschung

Basierend auf dem von Pia Schölnberger und Leonhard Weidinger entwickelten Konzept bündelt das Lexikon der österreichischen Provenienzforschung das seit 1998 von den Mitgliedern der Kommission für Provenienzforschung sowie ProvenienzforscherInnen anderer Institutionen erarbeitete Wissen. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf Personen, Orten, Firmen und Institutionen, die in Verbindung mit Museen und Sammlungen, der Kulturpolitik oder dem Handel mit Kunst- und Kulturgegenständen in Österreich zwischen 1930 und 1960 standen. Die Beiträge befassen sich mit dem Vermögensentzug in der NS-Zeit, sie skizzieren individuelle Biografien und Karrieren, dokumentieren institutionelle Zusammenhänge und Strukturen und fragen nach der Rückstellungspraxis in der Nachkriegszeit.

Das Lexikon der österreichischen Provenienzforschung wird laufend erweitert und ergänzt. Ausgehend von knapp 200 Beiträgen, die Anfang 2019 veröffentlicht wurden, sind mit Stand Oktober 2020 bereits 295 Lexikonartikel online abrufbar. Für Ende 2020 ist ein Relaunch der Website geplant, ein Teil der Beiträge wird dann erstmals auch auf Englisch zur Verfügung stehen, 2021 sollen weitere Texte in englischer Übersetzung folgen.

Projektlaufzeit: 2014 bis 2018 (Idee, Konzeption und Projektentwicklung), seit 2019 online, fortlaufende Erweiterung
Finanzierung: Kommission für Provenienzforschung
Projektteam: Pia Schölnberger und Leonhard Weidinger (Konzeption und wissenschaftliche Redaktion bis 2017), Konstantin Ferihumer und Susanne Hehenberger (wissenschaftliche Redaktion seit 2018), Leonhard Weidinger (technische Betreuung), Nick Somers (englische Übersetzungen)
Website: www.lexikon-provenienzforschung.org


Online-Edition der Karteien zum sogenannten Zentraldepot für beschlagnahmte Sammlungen in Wien

Im Dezember 2017 veröffentlichten die Kommission für Provenienzforschung und das Archiv des Kunsthistorischen Museums (KHM) rund 11.500 Karteikarten, die 1938/39 im sogenannten Zentraldepot für beschlagnahmte Sammlungen in der Neuen Burg in Wien entstanden waren. Die Karteikarten dokumentieren jene vom NS-Regime entzogenen Objekte aus Wiener Kunstsammlungen, die ab Herbst 1938 ins Zentraldepot verbracht wurden und später an verschiedene Museen, u. a. an das in Linz geplante Kunstmuseum, verteilt werden sollten. Bis Juli 1940 verwaltete das Kunsthistorische Museum Wien diese beschlagnahmten Kunstwerke, danach das Institut für Denkmalpflege, das heutige Bundesdenkmalamt (BDA) Wien, das die Karteikarten auch für Verzeichnungen nach 1945 weiternutzte. Grundidee der Online-Edition der Zentraldepot-Karteien war es, die an zwei unterschiedlichen Standorten verwahrten Quellen (BDA- und KHM-Archiv) digital zusammenzuführen und der Forschung sowie der interessierten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen.

Die Quellenedition erbrachte bereits ein konkretes Ergebnis: In Folge der systematischen Durchsicht der veröffentlichten Karteikarten und Fotos konnte ein Pettenkofen-Aquarell, das sich seit 1963 in der Albertina befand, nach 55 Jahren als beschlagnahmtes Objekt aus der Sammlung von Louis Rothschild identifiziert werden. Der Kunstrückgabebeirat empfahl im Juni 2018 eine Rückgabe.

Seit Sommer 2018 stehen die Rahmentexte der Website auch auf Englisch zur Verfügung. 2019 erweiterten rund 400 Karteikarten, die im Zuge von Inventarisierungsarbeiten im KHM-Archiv entdeckt worden waren, die Online-Edition. 2020 erfolgte ein Abgleich mit zusätzlich vorhandenen 122 Fotos unterschiedlicher Herkunft im KHM-Archiv, die einzelne Objekte oder auch Gruppen von Gegenständen aus den beschlagnahmten Sammlungen abbilden. Die Fotos zeigen Gemälde, Zeichnungen, Kunsthandwerk, Waffen und Rüstungsteile, die aus den Sammlungen Aldor, Altmann, Goldmann, Gutmann, Haas, Kornfeld, Kulka, Pilzer, A. und L. Rothschild, Thorsch stammen und offenbar zu unterschiedlichen Zeitpunkten fotografiert wurden. In der Folge konnten zu 170 Objektnummern des Zentraldepots Blogeinträge erstellt und Links zu den mittlerweile in der Online Sammlung des KHM publizierten Fotos gesetzt werden. Mittlerweile und dank der kollegialen Hilfe aus der Forschungs-Community wurden Zusatzinformationen zu rund 600 verschiedenen Objektnummern zusammengetragen.

Projektlaufzeit: Oktober 2015 bis Dezember 2017, redaktionelle Betreuung fortlaufend
Finanzierung: Kommission für Provenienzforschung und Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien
Projektteam: Lisa Frank (Kommission für Provenienzforschung), Susanne Hehenberger (Projektkoordination, KHM), Peter Kloser (KHM), Leonhard Weidinger (Kommission für Provenienzforschung)
Kooperationspartner: Kommission für Provenienzforschung, Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien, Bundesdenkmalamt
Website: www.zdk-online.org


Datenbank der Provenienzmerkmale

Die von René Schober und Christina Gschiel entwickelte und seit 2016 durch Julia Eßl betreute Datenbank der Provenienzmerkmale dient der Dokumentation, dem Sammeln und Beforschen von Merkmalen, die sich auf musealen Objekten befinden (z.B. auf Rückseiten/Rahmen von Gemälden und Zeichnungen oder auf Unterseiten von kunsthandwerklichen Objekten). Hierfür werden die bei Werkbegutachtungen (Autopsien) registrierten Funde in Verbindung mit den Daten zu den jeweiligen Trägerobjekten in einer eigens dafür konzipierten Datenbank aufgenommen, die dem Sammeln und Abgleichen von Provenienzmerkmalen zur besseren Idenfizierung von früheren EigentümerInnen und BesitzerInnen dient.
Derartige Funde können beispielsweise sein: Ausfuhrstempel, Firmenstempel, Museenstempel, Ausstellungsetiketten/-stempel, Galerieetiketten/-stempel, Nachlassstempel, Beschriftungen, Inventarstempel, Zahlen/Buchstaben, Ex Libris, Konsignations-
nummern, Zollstempel/-siegel etc.
Durch die online-Zugänglichkeit ist ein schneller Wissens- und Informationsaustausch gewährleistet. Die Datenbank ist registrierungspflichtig, und sämtliche in die Datenbank eingespielte Daten sind ausschließlich dem Kreis der NutzerInnen, die ein berechtigtes Interesse nachzuweisen haben, zugänglich.

Mit Stand September 2020 sind rund 900 Provenienzmerkmale in der Datenbank der Provenienzmerkmale erfasst.

Projektlaufzeit: Mai 2010 bis Dezember 2011, Betreuung fortlaufend
Finanzierung: Kommission für Provenienzforschung
Projektteam: René Schober und Christina Gschiel (2010–2016), Julia Eßl (seit 2016)
Website: provenienz.collectiveaccess.de


Der Kunsthandel im Spiegel der Ausfuhrakten des Bundesdenkmalamtes 1938–1945

Gabriele Anderl hat, in enger Kooperation mit Anneliese Schallmeiner, an einem von der Kommission für Provenienzforschung finanzierten Forschungsprojekt – „Der Kunsthandel im Spiegel der Ausfuhrakten des Bundesdenkmalamtes 1938–1945“ – gearbeitet. Grundlage der Untersuchung bildeten die Ausfuhrformulare und die Ausfuhrakten des Bundesdenkmalamtes aus den Jahren 1938–1945, soweit sich ein Bezug zum Kunst- und Antiquitätenhandel nachweisen ließ.

Gemäß dem Ausfuhrverbotsgesetz von 1918 und dem Denkmalschutzgesetz von 1923 unterlag und unterliegt die Ausfuhr wertvollen Kulturgutes aus Österreich strengen Regelungen. Wie gemeinhin bekannt, wurde dieses Gesetz während der NS-Zeit dazu missbraucht, die Ausfuhr von Vermögenwerten Verfolgter zu blockieren. In der Nachkriegszeit wurde dieses Gesetz auch dazu verwendet, den Geschädigten, die nunmehr zum Großteil im Ausland lebten, sogenannte Ausfuhrwidmungen an Museen abzupressen. Insgesamt wurden zwischen 1938 und 1945 rund 18.000 Ausfuhransuchen eingebracht, die weitaus größte Tranche davon 1938. Die erzwungene Flucht der jüdischen Bevölkerung und deren Enteignung sind als Hauptursache für die enorme Zunahme der Ausfuhranträge nach dem „Anschluss“ anzusehen.

In einem ersten Schritt wurden die Namen der antragstellenden Personen und die weiteren Details in einer Excel-Tabelle erfasst, in einem weiteren Schritt folgte die Auswertung der auf diese Weise erhobenen Daten. Unter anderem zeigte sich, dass riesige Mengen an Kulturgütern über den österreichischen Kunsthandel nach Deutschland gelangt waren, zumeist an den dortigen Kunsthandel. Wegen der meist nur unpräzisen Objektbeschreibungen in den Anträgen lässt sich im Einzelfall vielfach nicht nachvollziehen, inwieweit es sich um entzogenes oder unter Zwang veräußertes Kulturgut von Verfolgten gehandelt hat. Andererseits deutet aber schon der enorme Anstieg der Antragszahlen auf einen engen Zusammenhang mit den antijüdischen Maßnahmen hin. Als gesichert kann gelten, dass die österreichischen nichtjüdischen Händlerinnen und Händler nachhaltig von diesen Geschäften profitiert haben.

Das Projekt wird, erweitert um die Rolle der Logistikunternehmen in diesem Kontext, 2020 fortgesetzt.


TransCultAA – Transfer of Cultural Objects in the Alpe Adria Region in the 20th Century

The Commission for Provenance Research acts as associated partner in this research project

This research project is the first attempt to investigate the transfer of cultural assets in the Alpe Adria area in the 20th century. In an unprecedented transnational and collaborative way, it will engage a multinational team of scholars to analyze “Uses of the Past”, in particular historical and current conflicts of ownership, patrimony, and cultural heritage…
Lesen Sie mehr »